Our Whole-Hearted Light

He was staring off into nowhere. I poke him on his sides and he blurted out, “Caleb Lucis.” I looked at him questioningly. “Caleb Lucis,” he repeated with more conviction. And so it was.

~*~*~

When Dr. Abad scheduled me for a congenital anomaly scan last Wednesday, we were nervous beyond scale. While I religiously took all my meds, supplements, vitamins, and whatnots, there could still be a problem. God knows how many problems we have had in the past that we were praying hard that everything would be okay.

~*~*~

The cold dollop of gel on my stomach made me shiver a bit. I felt the baby kick. Nervous like me? I thought.

Then, we saw him.

His head first. On the right, there's the heartbeat (140 BPM).

His head first. On the right, there’s the heartbeat (140 BPM).

I could only count the moments wherein I felt my chest would explode from happiness. This is definitely one of those moments.

Another photo of his head, then his spine.

Another photo of his head, then his spine.

As the doctors ticked off the list…

Ultrasound results

Complete and healthy, thank God! :)

They told us it was a boy.

Manly proof.

Manly proof.

After the scan, John and I walked out of the ultrasound room. He was staring off into nowhere. I poke him on his sides and he blurted out, “Caleb Lucis.” I looked at him questioningly. “Caleb Lucis,” he repeated with more conviction. And so it was.

Caleb

Lucis

~*~*~

We started reading to Caleb last Tuesday. I bought some books for him from several children’s books publishing houses:

Adarna Books

He seems to enjoy them, making movements whenever he hears me or John reading to him. Hopefully, he grows up to be a bookworm, just like his parents. :)

~*~*~

Stay healthy, anak. Tatay and nanay are waiting for you. ♥

Got something to say?

