Post Parting Depression — and dealing with it

First of all no, that is not a typo. I really meant post parting — as in a break up.

Nobody likes a break up, be you the break-er or the break-ee (sounds silly, haha, sorry). It’s sad, messy, and most of the time crazy. Seeing the end of a relationship is a pain. Neil Sedaka puts it bluntly: “Breaking up is hard to do.

Been there, done that: the crying, the wailing, the talking, the more crying, the drinking, the writing, the even more crying, the wallowing, the sighing…did I mention the crying? :p

We all have our own ways of dealing with the dump. Personally, I can’t imagine a better way to wallow in post-break up sorrow than to watch some of my favorite movies about romance gone bad. Bit twisted some might say, yes, but it helps me cry and to some extent be introspective about my own experiences.

Here are my personal favorites, the movies I watched while dealing with a break up. :3 (And no, no break ups on our end of the field. Happily together, thankyouverymuch. ♥ )

  1. Sex and the City (2008)
    Stars Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, and Cynthia Nixon
    Now how can you not be a wreck after that runaway groom scene? It was gut-wrenching, seeing how Carrie waited for Bigs in her fa-bu-lous!!~~ gown. My heart went out for her, and I wasn’t even married then. Krkrkr.
    On a side note, I like this one better than the second movie. Wololong, I just do. And the Mexican villas. And the men. Wait. Break up, right, we were talking about the break up. >:P
  2. The Wedding Singer (1998)
    Stars Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore
    Who says the ladies get all the fun? Robbie (played by Sandler) shows us that sometimes men feel the brunt of it too. I started cracking up as soon as he went ballistic and sung ‘Love Stinks’ at the wedding reception. Give the guy a break — he just had a break up and then he had to sing at a wedding reception? At a place where supposedly true love is being celebrated? Haha, deal with it wedding guests. But then again, an hour into the movie and we’re all going Awwwwww!~ over ‘Grow Old With You’. Admit it, you sang. :3
    This movie showcases two of my favorite Hollywood actors, so that’s a plus. :D
  3. 500 Days of Summer (2009)
    Stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel
    Remember this line?: No! Don’t pull that with me! Kissing in the copy room? Holding hands in IKEA? Shower sex? Come on! Friends my balls! Hands down. One of. The most. Amazing. Movies. EVAR. :D Another one of those Boys Feel Pain Too movies. Tom’s character is so adorable. Adorably cute, adorably painful, adorably adorable. And oh, I love how this movie shows how one minute, you love every single detail about your partner and the next you abhor them. Reminds me very much of Strangers, Again.
    I have a confession: I’ve only watched this in October of 2010. Kadiri, right? I’ve been putting off watching this movie for the longest time. I’ve heard many many many many MANY reviews and stories about this movie and I felt that I could relate to each quote posted on Facebook about it. Gaah. When I finally watched it, I wanted to hug the screenplay writer and tell him/her “Thank you for writing my love story.” … HAHA. Lame. Anyway.
  4. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
    Stars Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet
    After a break-up, all you have is this big mess of memories and reminders and things, just little objects you gave each other and now in this stupid age we have to deal with Facebook photos. This movie premise is perfect: what if we could just erase all of that from our brains? Give it all up physically and mentally. If you could, would you?
    How do you go from, “I could die right now, Clem. I’m just happy. I’ve never felt that before. I’m just exactly where I want to be” to “I’m f***ing crawling out of my skin. I should’ve left you at the flea market”? Have you ever wondered how that happens?
  5. One More Chance (2007)
    Stars John Lloyd Cruz and Bea Alonzo
    AHA! THIS. MOVIE. This movie was made to make everyone cry. I swear, only a bag of rocks will not shed a tear or anything that resembles it. Popoy and Basha made me remember ALL my past relationships and made me think about all of my possible relationships in the future. I watched this flick in the big screen. The crowd let out a nervous laugh when Popoy furiously said, “Putangina naman Bash! Ganyan ka ba katigas?!” Tears rolled here: “Sana ako na lang ulit.” Hearts broke here: “Ipikit mo ang mga mata mo, para kung masaktan man ako.. di mo makita.”
    I swear, I could double the size of this post just by quoting lines from this movie, hahaha.

In this age of digital dumping, how do you deal with a break up?

Got something to say?

